Day 17

Sutra 1.17

वितर्कविचारानन्दास्मितारूपानुगमात् संप्रज्ञातः॥१७॥

vitarka-vicārānandāsmitā-rūpānugamāt saṃprajñātaḥ


  1. Samprajnata is due to the systematic absorption with form, the abstract, bliss and I-AM-NESS. -CT
  2. Samprajnata samadhi is accompanied by reasoning, reflecting, rejoicing and pure I-am-ness. – SS
  3. Samprajanata samadhi consists of the consecutive mental stages of absorption with physical awareness, absorption with subtle awareness, absorption with bliss, and absorption with the sense of I-ness.  – EBF


saṃprajñāta— a type of samadhi that still uses the mind and an object of meditation
anugama—accompanied by
rūpa— form
vitarka—reasoning, absorption with physical awareness
vicāra—inquiry, reflecting, absorption with subtle awareness 
ānanda—fullness, bliss, rejoicing, absorption in bliss
asmitā—the sense of “I am”, pure  I-am-ness, absorption in identification, ego

Key Concepts:

This sutra begins Patanjali’s explanation on Samadhi. Samadhi one of the eight limbs of yoga in Classical Yoga, the system based on Patanjali’s Yoga Sutras. Another key feature of Classical Yoga is that Samadhi is also the goal. 

This sutra explains the four-stage practice of samprajnata samadhi, the distinguished samadhi. It is important to remember that the state of samadhi cannot be entered or practices without mastery of the mind, perfection in one-pointedness and meditation. 

Samadhi is understood as absorption. And samprajnata samadhi refers to the absorption with the different aspects of prakrti, nature. This type of samadhi is understood as samadhi with supports, or objects of focus and meditation. 

If we understand Samkhya, then we understand that there are two universal aspects, Purusa and Prakrti. Purusa is pure consciousness, the witness, and Prakrti is nature. Go back and look at the samkhya chart from before. Prakrti or nature is made up unmanifest (potential creation) and the manifest (creation). 

Both contain all three forces of creation, the gunas. In the unmanifest, the gunas are in perfect balance. In the manifest they are out of balance, coming together in varying degrees as the objects of our experience. 

Purusa contacts intellect and then ego emerges. The ego further refracts into the mind, the senses, object of the senses, and the gross elements. 

Samprajnata samadhi is the process of rolling all the aspects of Prakrti back up into the unmanifest and then pure consciousness, like rolling up a retractable map. Sucking up all the pieces of nature back into a whole. Samprajnata is the samadhi of going inward, of involution. It requires that we start our practice with the gross aspects of nature and systematically working our way back through the subtle to the most subtle. 

The first stage of the samadhi is vitarka or  savitarka, absorption into the gross objects or elements of nature. When one becomes absorbed into an object, they gain all knowledge of this object. This knowledge gives the yogin power over this object. 

The next stage is that of vicar or savicara, samadhi with no object, just the abstract. This means absorption with the subtle like color, beauty, or love. This stage includes reflection on these subtle aspects of nature. 

The third stage is sa-ananda samadhi, or absorption with the sattvic mind, the peaceful or blissful mind. At this stage, there is no reasoning, no reflecting, and no intellect. 

The final stage is sa-asmita samadhi, the absorption with I-AM-NESS! The absorption with the identification with pure consciousness. 


***Note: This sutra is describing different states of consciousness that can not be intellectualize. They must be experienced. The sutras are just a guide. 

Mantra Practice-Keep it Up!

  • OM or AUM
  • I am love.
  • I am abundant.
  • I am truth. 
  • Everything is as it should be. 
  • I determine my own experience. 


Sanskrit Mantras

 ॐ असतो मा सद्गमय ।

 तमसो मा ज्योतिर्गमय ।मृत्योर्मा अमृतं गमय ।

ॐ शांतिः शांतिः शांतिः ॥


 लोकाः समस्ताः सुखिनो मवन्तु ॥

 Lokāḥ Samastaḥ Sukhino Bhavantu॥

May all beings everywhere attain happiness and freedom. 

Oṁ Asato Mā Sad Gamaya

Tamaso Mā Jyotir Gamaya

Mṛtyur Ma Amṛtam Gamaya

Oṁ Śāntiḥ Śāntiḥ Śāntiḥ

Lead me from the unreal to the real

From darkness to the light

From mortality to immorality

Om Peace Peace Peace


Watch for changes in the Pranayama/Meditation Section of Practice!


Guide me to that which is in my highest good. Help me to distinguish what nourishes my soul and what deteriorates my being. Lead me down the path of wisdom so that I may show up fully in each moment. Let my study be enlightening and fruitful. Allow my practice to benefit all beings.  – Namaste


Practice 5X Rounds. Do more if you like.

Belly Breathing

  1. Lie on you back, with your knees bent and heels close to the hips. 
  2. Place your palms on your belly between the navel and bottom ribs with the tips of the middle fingers touching. 
  3. Start Ujjayi Pranayama.
  4. Start to breath deep into the belly. Let the tips of the fingers move apart on inhalation. Hold the breath comfortably. 
  5. Exhale completely, let the finger tips come back together. Pause, hold the breath comfortably. 
  6. Continue for 5 Minutes. 

Yoga Nidra

Get comfortable in Savasana and listen to the Yoga Nidra audio file. You can practice Yoga Nidra anytime that you feel tired and need a quick recharge or when you want to relax, like before bed. 


Choose one of the 5 elements. Earth, Wind, Water, Fire, or Space. Do a 5 minute contemplation of this element. If you need to use a scratch sheet of paper and fill it up with all of your thoughts and ideas. The goal is just to work on keeping the mind focused on one things. 

  1. Do you feel you have a comfortable understanding of Samkhya? 
  2. How did I experience the todays reflection exercise? 
  3. How is my mantra is my mantra practice going? 

What does this remind me of? Other stories, scriptures, or teachings.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked * logo